SPHTM ALUMNI: Beyond the Degree

ADNAN AL-MUFTI (MPH IHD ’00) is busy researching use of camel’s milk as an alternative medicinal therapy for use in treating infectious diseases. Dr. Mufti is looking into the immune response from the antibodies provided by camel’s milk.

photo of Adnan Al-Mufti
Adnan Al-Mufti

DAVID GAUS (MD/MPHTM ’92) is the subject of a new book called The Long Road from Quito by Tony Hiss. Gaus, called “an unlikely trailblazer” by the book’s publisher, co-founded Andean Health and Development dedicated to supporting health initiatives in South America. Professor Emeritus Barnett Cline published a review of the book and a short interview with the author in Volume 101, Issue 1, of the American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. The book is available from most major retailers.

ANTHONY KONDRACKI (MPH MCH ’13) was pleased to share that during the spring semester he successfully defended his doctoral dissertation and graduated with a PhD from the University of Maryland School of Public Health. His dissertation was on The Prevalence of Maternal Smoking Intensity Status in Early and Late Pregnancy and its Association with Early Morbidity in Singleton Term Births in the United States, 2016. He graduated with his doctorate this past May.

photo of Njeri Wamae
In October 2018, Dean LaVeist was invested as the Weatherhead Presidential Chair at Tulane University. That same week, Alumna Njeri Wamae was honored with the ASTMH Ludlow Meda during the association’s annual meeting in New Orleans, and she was able to celebrate her success at the dean’s investiture in the Diboll Gallery and Auditorium.

NJERI WAMAE (MSPH TRMD ’85, PhD TRMD ’96) was honored by the American Society for Tropical Medicine and Hygiene with the 2018 Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal during the association’s annual meeting, which was held in New Orleans. The medal recognizes honorees for their inspirational and pioneering spirit, whose work represents success despite obstacles, and advances in the field of tropical medicine. Wamae is a professor of parasitology and dean of the School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences for the United States International University-Africa. This was her second recent award, having also been bestowed with the Nelson Mandela Distinguished Africanist Award by the Board of the Toyin Falola annual Conference for her commitment to research, integrity, and productivity, and sincere passion for everything good about Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *